Massage Therapist Insurance: Coverage, State Rules and Cost

Most massage therapists need professional liability (a client is hurt by the treatment) and general liability (a client slips on oil in your room). Alabama, Georgia, Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin require therapists to carry coverage, and Florida requires it of massage establishments. AMTA and ABMP membership plans cost $199 to $235 a year; Insureon customers pay a median $42 a month for professional liability.

Updated October 10, 2026 · By the QuoteSweep editorial team · How we research

Compare business insurance options

Harper is an AI-native commercial insurance brokerage with deep specialty and E&S market access — a strong fit for professional and harder-to-place risk (E&O, cyber, umbrella). It targets coverage in 24 to 48 hours.

Who needs massage therapist insurance?

Any therapist who treats clients without their own policy is personally exposed if a client claims an injury. That's most solo and contract therapists: 36% of US massage therapists are self-employed, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and many more work as 1099 contractors inside someone else's spa.

Who needs what:

You areYou needUsually bought as
Solo or mobile therapistProfessional liability + general liabilityAn AMTA or ABMP membership plan, or a commercial policy
Contractor (1099) in a spa or clinicYour own professional + general liabilitySame; the spa's policy may not cover you
Employee (W-2) of a spaCheck what your employer's policy covers; your own policy fills gapsMembership plan if the employer's cover is thin
Studio or spa owner with staffLiability, property, workers' compA business owner's policy (BOP) + workers' comp

Your state may also make coverage a license condition. See the state table below.

Professional vs general liability: which one pays?

Professional liability pays when the massage itself causes harm; general liability pays when something else in your space does. You need both, and the two association plans bundle them.

What happenedPolicy that responds
A client says deep-tissue work injured their shoulderProfessional liability (malpractice)
A client slips on massage oil on the floorGeneral liability
A client reacts to a lotion or oil you used or soldProducts liability (inside most massage plans)
A client files a complaint with your licensing boardLicense defence, if your plan includes it
You damage the room you rent at a clinicDamage to rented premises / fire legal liability

The professional liability vs general liability guide covers the difference in more detail. One thing to check on any plan is how it treats allegations of sexual misconduct. Some policies exclude them or cap them at a lower limit, so ask before you buy.

Which states require massage therapists to carry insurance?

Six of the states we checked make liability insurance a licensing condition. In the rest, a spa, clinic or landlord can still require it in your contract.

StateWho must carry itMinimumRule
AlabamaTherapists, establishments and schools$1M professional and general liability, insurer rated "A" or betterAla. Admin. Code 532-X-3 (therapists), 532-X-4 (establishments), 532-X-5 (schools)
FloridaMassage establishmentsProperty-damage and bodily-injury liability; no minimum statedFla. Stat. 480.043(3), F.A.C. 64B7-26
GeorgiaTherapists, at licensing and throughout the license term$1M per occurrence / $3M annual aggregate, covering bodily injury, property damage and professional liabilityO.C.G.A. 43-24A-8(b)(8), as amended by HB 242 (2019)
MissouriTherapists (professional liability); massage businesses (general liability)No minimum stated20 CSR 2197-5.010
New JerseyTherapists, and employers who register$1M per occurrence / $3M aggregateN.J.A.C. 13:37A-2.2
WisconsinEach therapist, in their own name$1M per occurrence / $1M per yearWis. Admin. Code MTBT 2

We found no insurance condition in the massage rules of Iowa, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Rhode Island, Utah or Kentucky. Texas's massage rules (16 TAC ch. 117) don't require a policy; their only insurance mention is a ban on waiving deductibles. We haven't confirmed California, New York, Arkansas or the remaining states, so check with your board. Checked on 10 October 2026; the Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin rules were read from Cornell LII's copies of the official codes.

In Wisconsin an employer's policy doesn't satisfy the rule: each therapist must hold the policy in their own name, at licensing and at every renewal.

For other business insurance rules where you work, see the state pages, for example Florida business insurance requirements.

Is AMTA or ABMP membership insurance enough?

For a solo therapist, usually yes. Both plans include professional, general and products liability at $2 million per claim and $6 million a year, for $199 to $235. They stop short of property, workers' comp and auto, which a studio owner needs.

AMTA (Professional)ABMP (Professional / Certified)
Price$235 a year, or $20 a month$199 a year (Professional); $229 or $20 a month (Certified)
LimitsUp to $2M per claim, $6M annual aggregate$2M per occurrence, $6M annual aggregate, per member
Shared cap$10M master-policy aggregate per year, shared across membersNo shared cap, per ABMP
Policy formNot stated on AMTA's pagesOccurrence
Defence costsNot statedPaid outside the limits
InsurerHPSO, with CNA as carrier partnerNot named
Also includedLicense protection, products, fire/water legal liability up to $100K, medical payments, health-information privacy costsProducts, personal and advertising injury, medical expense, fire legal liability
Hot stone / cuppingHot stone namedBoth named
Additional insuredsNo chargeFree

Sources: AMTA coverage, AMTA membership, ABMP liability insurance, ABMP membership, all read 10 October 2026. AMTA's overview page says "per occurrence" while its coverage page says "per claim"; we've used the coverage page wording.

Neither structure is better for everyone. AMTA's $10M shared cap would matter only if claims across all members exceeded it in a year; ABMP's individual limits and defence outside the limits are its own selling points. Ask either association for the policy specimen if the form (occurrence or claims-made) matters to you, as it does if you might stop practising.

Does your spa's or employer's policy cover you?

Only if you're named on it, and often not if you're a contractor. A spa's general liability covers the business; whether it covers a 1099 therapist's professional work depends on the policy wording.

Ask the spa or clinic three things before your first shift:

  1. Am I covered as an employee, an additional insured, or not at all?
  2. Does the policy include professional liability for my treatments?
  3. Do you require me to carry my own policy, and at what limits?

If the answer to the first question is "not at all", buy your own. If the spa asks to be named as an additional insured on your policy, both association plans add one at no charge.

Does it cover mobile massage, hot stone and cupping?

ABMP's page names both hot stone and cupping as covered, and AMTA's names hot stone. For mobile and home visits, ask the plan directly: the liability follows you, but your table and equipment in the car, and the car itself, need separate cover.

How much does massage therapist insurance cost?

A membership plan with liability costs $199 to $235 a year. A commercial policy bought through Insureon costs its customers a median $30 a month for general liability and $42 a month for professional liability.

PolicyMonthlyYearlyWhat it is
General liability$30$357Insureon median, massage therapists
Professional liability$42$500Insureon median, massage therapists
Workers' comp$50$604Insureon median, massage therapists
Business owner's policy$82$979Insureon median, massage therapists
AMTA Professional membership$20$235Flat membership fee, insurance included
ABMP Professional membershipn/a (annual)$199Flat membership fee, insurance included

Insureon figures are the median of policies its massage and wellness customers bought (Insureon); its headings call them averages. Membership prices are from each association's site, 10 October 2026. The two aren't the same product: a commercial policy can be tailored and bundled with property and workers' comp, while a membership plan is one fixed package.

What raises a commercial price: employing other therapists, home visits, a wider range of modalities, past claims, and the scope of your state license. More on drivers and ranges in massage therapist insurance cost.

Do studio owners need workers' comp or a BOP?

Yes, once you rent or own a space with equipment or hire staff. A BOP bundles general liability with property cover for your tables, products and build-out, and most states require workers' compensation once you have employees.

Few insurers name massage as a target class. In QuoteSweep's registry of 554 insurers, one, Cerity, lists massage businesses as a target for workers' comp. Most owners buy liability through association programs or specialist brokers and add property and workers' comp from a general small-business insurer.

How do you get covered today?

If you're a solo therapist, compare an association plan with a commercial quote on the same limits. If you own a studio with staff, you'll also need property and workers' comp, which an association plan doesn't include.

Have these ready: your license number and state, the modalities you offer, whether you do mobile or home visits, your annual revenue, payroll if you have staff, and any past claims. Then compare business insurance quotes from several insurers through one form.

Frequently asked questions

Do massage therapists need liability insurance?

In Alabama, Georgia, Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin, yes: it's a licensing condition for therapists. Florida requires it for massage establishments. In the other states we checked it isn't a licensing rule, but a spa, clinic or landlord can require it, and without it you pay any claim yourself.

Is massage therapist insurance required by law?

Only in some states. Of the states we checked on 10 October 2026, Alabama, Georgia, Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin require therapists to carry liability insurance and Florida requires massage establishments to. Kansas, Minnesota and Wyoming have no state massage regulation, as listed by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

How much does massage therapist insurance cost per year?

AMTA's professional membership costs $235 a year and ABMP's costs $199 (Professional) or $229 (Certified), each with liability insurance included. A commercial policy through Insureon costs its customers a median $357 a year for general liability and $500 for professional liability.

Is ABMP or AMTA better for insurance?

Both offer $2 million per claim and $6 million aggregate. ABMP is cheaper ($199 vs $235), states occurrence coverage and pays defence outside the limits; AMTA names its carrier (CNA via HPSO) and includes license protection. AMTA's limits sit under a $10 million master aggregate shared by members; ABMP's are individual.

Does massage insurance cover mobile or home visits?

Liability for your treatments and for injuries in a client's home usually travels with you, but confirm it with the plan. Your car and the equipment you carry need separate cover: commercial auto for a business-owned vehicle and property cover for tables and supplies.

Does my spa's insurance cover me as a contractor?

Often not. A spa's policy covers the business, and a 1099 contractor's treatments may fall outside it. Ask whether you're named on the policy and whether it includes professional liability; if not, carry your own and name the spa as an additional insured.

Compare business insurance options

Harper is an AI-native commercial insurance brokerage with deep specialty and E&S market access — a strong fit for professional and harder-to-place risk (E&O, cyber, umbrella). It targets coverage in 24 to 48 hours.

Ready to compare business insurance quotes?

Tell us about your business once and see what insurers offer.

Compare quotes